Ash and Bone

raking fingers
through ash and bone
my parents       

Dusting one day, I picked up the small glass vase that held the last of my parents’ remains. The vase, from Egypt, hand-blown, painted sea blue with gold accents, came from my spiritual teacher. I had given it to my mother. It sat for many years on the small kitchen shelf near the sink, along with other small gifts given over the years.

Unexpectedly in their presence, I dropped the vase. The lid broke off. Suddenly I was grieving again as ash and tiny bone shards fell into the rug. I raked my fingers through them, collected the bits and pieces of my beloveds, and held them in the palm of my hand. These two—a mother and a father who figured so large in my world. Now all that’s left is a hand full of ash and bone, memory, and a faint hovering of essence. Strangely, the vase later disappeared.

raking fingers
through ash and bone
my parents

About Pamela Overeynder

I'm a Biodynamic Craniosacral Therapist. This gentle and profound treatment helps the autonomic nervous system settle. Imbalances in the nervous system are linked to almost all disease processes due to the effects of stress. My interest is in offering a safe resting place for my clients, a space of deep stillness, a chrysalis of healing, where the body can access its own resources and come to balance. My role is coach and witness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Ash and Bone

  1. patriciakay3 says:

    Such poignancy when matter returns to matter and the spirit soars through our hearts broken open a little wider now into the ethers of Mystery. My love flies to you with sweet memories and tenderness.

    Like

Leave a comment